Media Diary 1:I like networking websites and TV Dramas

Today, I woke up at 8:30am, the first thing I did was turn on my cell phone, and then check my gmail account, twitter, and Facebook. Then I turned on the radio and listened to it while I brushed my teeth, I bought the radio two weeks ago for another class and then began to listen to it. I usually listen to FM 97.3(WSKY), the programs are mainly news talk information, which are really good for improving my English listening. At 9:00 I went to the living room and turned on TV. There are only twelve channels in our TV, and nothing interesting was on just some commercials, so I just left it on as a background sound while I was having breakfast.

 After I finished, I went back to my room to begin my computer activity. I checked my UF webmail firstly, and there are 15 new ones! Some of them are useful while some are not. Then I went to http://www.renren.com/ . Renren Network was formerly called Xiaonei, started with university students and since has opened to all. It’s China’s largest online community website among students, a social networking website which is quite similar to Facebook. Most of my Chinese friends are using this website so it’s very convenient to check what they are up to, their new uploaded photos, and some new shared interesting articles, etc. I saw a great shared story, and it’s about a Chinese girl who just finished her graduate school in the US. She met a great deal of problems and difficulties during the two years, and she was so strong that overcame all of them, and now she’s got a great job, very touching and encouraging. Then I check another social networking website http://www.kaixin001.com/. It’s also a social networking website, similar to Facebook, which aimed to attract office workers by focusing on fun, and now it has becoming a large online community too just like Renren. These two are the most popular networking websites among youths in China. Next I checked my gmail Facebook account and again, no new emails nor messages. Not surprisingly I spent two and a half hours doing those, I know it’s quite time-consuming, but I just couldn’t help it. After that I started to watch TV series online because there is not so much time for them during weekdays. I watched a new episode of The Mentalist, Grey’s Anatomy, Life Unexpected, The Big Bang Theory, and How I Met Your Mother. I like to watch them online because the English subtitles are pretty useful for me to learn new words. Then I read one of my text book “ Teaching Tips” for one hour, it’s a very helpful book which helped me to understand the class difference between China and the US.

 During the dinner I turned on TV again, there was a football game on, but I couldn’t figure out what was going on since I’ve never watched a football game before I came the US and I know nothing about it, I think I really need to learn some rules about football. After dinner, I went back to room to start writing my first media diary, while listening to a Korean song “Without Words” by Jang Keun Suk. It’s from a famous Korean drama called “You’re Beautiful” (Korean TV dramas are extremely popular in China), I love this song and can’t get enough of it.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I liked the article about Renren! Very interesting!

    I think this is a statement almost every student can agree with: “Not surprisingly I spent two and a half hours doing those, I know it’s quite time-consuming, but I just couldn’t help it.

    I think all international students should attend at least one Gators football game, and be sure to go with some American students who will explain the game to you. I do not enjoy watching football myself, but I have known some international students who really became fascinated by it. After you graduate, football can be a big link between you and other Gators. Also the experience of being IN THE SWAMP is unique — you should not miss it!

    If you never go to a Gators game in the Swamp, it is like visiting New York and not going to the top of the Empire State Building.

    Do Chinese fans understand the Korean lyrics? Do you look up a translation?

    Reply

    • Yeah, now I’m trying to stay away from computer as long as I can…

      I’ve got to attend a Gators football game, otherwise it feels like I’m not a gator yet. Football games are quite exciting! I guess I’ll probably get obsessed with them after I know how the games work, and I clearly remember what I was like when I started to watch tennis games.

      Chinese fans don’t understand Korean, but we’re still very into their music, language is not a barrier. I need to watch Chinese subtitle when I’m watching Korean dramas, though I was learning Korean right before I came to the US, I still need practice. It’s much easier for Chinese to learn Korean( or Japanese) than English because the meaning and pronunciation is quite similar to Chinese, just different characters. Korean people were using Chinese characters till 1950s.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

